Header Slideshow

High Altitude BalloonSat Project - Bluegrass Community and Technical College

August 21st 2017 Great American EclipseLive Tracking and Streaming Resources

+ Stream.live

  • This is where we will live stream footage of just our team during the eclipse on August 21st. 
  • Our stream will start at approx. 10:25AM Pacific / 11:25AM Mountain / 12:25PM Central / 1:25PM Eastern.

NASA National Balloon Live Stream 

  • "On Monday, August 21, 2017, all of North America will be treated to an eclipse of the sun. Viewers around the world will be provided a wealth of images captured before, during, and after the eclipse by 11 spacecraft, at least three NASA aircraft, more than 50 high-altitude balloons, and the astronauts aboard the International Space Station – each offering a unique vantage point for the celestial event." 
  • This event will start when the eclipse begins in the U.S. starting in Oregon at approx. 9:06AM Pacific / 10:06AM Mountain / 11:06AM Central / 12:06PM Eastern

+ Find Me Spot Tracker

  • This is where you can track our balloon's location live during eclipse day on August 21st 2017. Our launch will begin at approx. 10:25AM Pacific/ 11:25AM Mountain/ 12:25PM Central/ 1:25PM Eastern.

+ BCTC HAB YouTube Channel

  • We will upload high altitude balloon footage of the August 21st eclipse here after we retrieve our payloads and process the videos.

+ BCTC Environmental Science Technology Facebook Page 

  • This is the Bluegrass Community and Technical College Eniviornmental Science Technolgy Program's Facebook community page. This is the program that hosts the Balloon Sat. Team. Coordinated by Professor Tracy Knowles.

+ Twitter Page @BCTCBalloonTeam

+ Instagram @bctcballoonsat

The Bluegrass Community and Technical College’s (BCTC) BalloonSat Project trains students and faculty to design, build, and fly balloon-borne atmospheric data collection payloads. Students and faculty attended NASA’s BalloonSat four day workshop/launch at Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, AL. During the Spring 2015 semester and Fall 2015 semester student teams launched balloon data collection missions focusing on measurement of temperature, pressure, altitude, carbon dioxide, ozone, and mercury concentrations. Students and faculty will share their experiences and data through the BCTC BalloonSat Project website and presentations at regional and national conferences. Future launches and trainings will be held at other KCTCS colleges interested in high-altitude ballooning.